Skyline Nexus ERP Skyline Nexus ERP
Price comparison

Accounting software prices compared: 1 user, 2026

What one user really pays per year for accounting software and ERP in 2026: Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, Zoho, Odoo and more, with prices checked 30 September.

Last reviewed 14 min

Browse topics

Tax & e-invoicing calendar

Once a month: mandate dates, VAT changes and filing deadlines for your country. No sales mail.

In this guide
  1. What one user pays for accounting software in 2026
  2. How we compared: plans, prices and dates
  3. What you actually need: invoicing, accounting, inventory or ERP
  4. Euro area: ERP systems priced per user
  5. Euro area: accounting apps with EUR list prices
  6. United Kingdom: Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and FreshBooks
  7. United Kingdom: sole-trader apps and Skyline Nexus ERP Solo
  8. Canada and the United States
  9. Saudi Arabia and the UAE
  10. Promotions right now, the promo cliff and other hidden costs
  11. Where a free or cheaper tool is the better choice
  12. Skyline Nexus ERP Solo: what one user gets and what it costs

What one user pays for accounting software in 2026

As of 30 September 2026, free tiers such as Zoho Books Free cost nothing; for one user, accounting plans without inventory cost EUR 48 to EUR 948 a year, plans with inventory GBP 60 to EUR 3,228, and full ERP USD 60 to EUR 831.60. Skyline Nexus ERP Solo lists at EUR 204 a year in Germany, EUR 178.50 for the first 12 paid months with its launch offer to 31 January 2027.

The ends of those ranges: Moneybird Compact (EUR 4 a month) and Pennylane Premium (EUR 79, its first plan for independents with the accounting module); Pandle Pro (GBP 5) and Exact Online Handel Essentials (EUR 269, a wholesale product); ERPNext on Frappe Cloud (USD 5, no EU region) and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central Essentials (EUR 69.30 per user, billed yearly). SAP Business One and Oracle NetSuite publish no price.

All competitor figures were read on each vendor's own pricing page on 30 September 2026. Prices change often, so confirm them on the vendor's page before you buy.

How we compared: plans, prices and dates

For each vendor we took the entry-level plan one user can buy and the first plan that adds inventory, at the monthly-billing list price excluding VAT. The 12-month cost is 12 times that price; where a vendor sells annual billing only (Business Central, Rewaa), we used the annual price.

Promotions are listed separately because they expire: 90% off for six months means ten times the price from month seven. Users included matter because a five-user plan and a one-user plan at the same price are different deals, and ERP vendors charge per user. Inventory matters because most accounting apps put stock tracking in a higher plan or a paid add-on.

Not public means the vendor publishes no list price. SAP Business One offers only a quote request through partners; Oracle NetSuite describes an annual licence (platform, modules, users) plus a one-time implementation fee and refers buyers to sales. Where a vendor does not say whether prices include VAT, the item says so.

What you actually need: invoicing, accounting, inventory or ERP

Invoicing only means quotes, invoices and payment tracking. Accounting adds a general ledger, VAT or sales-tax returns and bank reconciliation. Inventory adds stock quantities, cost of goods sold and often a POS. Full ERP puts purchasing, stock, sales, CRM and HR on one ledger. Each level up usually costs more, so buy the level that matches what you do today.

Local rules, as of September 2026. Germany: paper or PDF invoices between businesses are allowed until 31 December 2026, and in 2027 only if the previous year's turnover was at most EUR 800,000. France: every company must be able to receive e-invoices from 1 September 2026; small and micro businesses must issue them from 1 September 2027. Poland: KSeF has applied since 1 February 2026 to the largest taxpayers and since 1 April 2026 to the rest. Saudi Arabia: ZATCA Phase 2 has been rolled out in waves since 1 January 2023. UK: MTD for VAT covers every VAT-registered business, and MTD for Income Tax started on 6 April 2026 for qualifying income over GBP 50,000.

Cash retail needs a certified till in Germany (TSE), Austria (RKSV), France (certified cash software), Italy (registratore telematico), Poland (kasa fiskalna) and Spain (Verifactu, TicketBAI in the Basque Country).

Euro area: ERP systems priced per user

Full ERP includes inventory as standard. Monthly billing, excluding VAT, unless stated.

  • Odoo Standard: EUR 31.10 per user a month, EUR 373.20 for 12 months (EUR 24.90 on annual billing); all apps including inventory, POS and payroll, one company; VAT and e-invoicing not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central Essentials: EUR 69.30 per user a month, billed yearly, EUR 831.60 a year; inventory, warehouse and multiple companies; payroll and localisations via partner apps, implementation extra; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Dolibarr hosting (the software is free and open source): DoliCloud Basic EUR 14 per user (EUR 168 a year), DoliCenter Economy EUR 19 (EUR 228), DoliZen Solo EUR 11 (EUR 132, HT or TTC not stated); inventory included; seen 30 September 2026.
  • ERPNext on Frappe Cloud (the software is free and open source): Tiny plan USD 5 a month (USD 60 a year), no per-user fee, Mumbai, KSA and Virginia regions only, 250 MB database; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Exact Online (Netherlands): Boekhouden Essentials EUR 49 (EUR 588 a year), 1 user, 25 invoices a month, Peppol sending, no inventory; Handel Essentials EUR 269 (EUR 3,228) adds inventory; VAT basis not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • SAP Business One and Oracle NetSuite: no public list price; quote only, NetSuite with a one-time implementation fee; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Skyline Nexus ERP Solo: EUR 17 a month (EUR 204 a year) in DE, NL, AT, BE, IE, LU and FI; EUR 15 (EUR 180) in FR and IT; EUR 12 (EUR 144) in ES and PT; 1 user, ledger, inventory, POS for invoice-based sales; XRechnung and ZUGFeRD in Germany; plateforme agréée, SdI, Verifactu, Peppol sending, certified tills (TSE, NF525, RT) and local payroll being rolled out; seen 30 September 2026.

Euro area: accounting apps with EUR list prices

Cheaper entry prices, with inventory and extra users usually charged separately. Monthly billing, excluding VAT.

  • Zoho Books Germany: Free (1 user, XRechnung and ZUGFeRD export); Professional EUR 40 (EUR 480 a year), 5 users, inventory, multi-currency; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Zoho Books France: Standard EUR 12 (EUR 144 a year), 3 users, no inventory; Professionnel EUR 24 (EUR 288), 5 users, stock and currencies; e-invoicing not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • QuickBooks Online EU list (not sold in France): Simple Start EUR 21 (EUR 252 a year), 1 user, no inventory; Plus EUR 45 (EUR 540), 5 users, inventory, multi-currency; VAT treatment not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • FreshBooks EU: Lite EUR 16 (EUR 192 a year), 5 clients; Plus EUR 30 (EUR 360), 50 clients; team members EUR 10; inventory not listed; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Holded Plus: EUR 15 (EUR 180 a year), 1 user, 250 invoices a year, Verifactu; inventory add-on EUR 25 (EUR 480 a year with it), POS EUR 25 per store, payroll EUR 5 per employee; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Lexware Office L (Germany): EUR 21.90 (EUR 262.80 a year), first plan with bookkeeping and VAT pre-return, ZUGFeRD and XRechnung; inventory not listed; payroll add-on; seen 30 September 2026.
  • sevDesk Buchhaltung (Germany): EUR 25.90 (EUR 310.80 a year), 1 user, e-invoices sent and received; Inventar add-on EUR 19.90 (EUR 549.60 a year together); Kostenlos free for 3 invoices a month; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Pennylane (France): Free for micro-businesses without VAT; Starter EUR 7 (EUR 84 a year) invoicing, needs a Pennylane business account; accounting module from Premium EUR 79 (EUR 948); e-invoicing on all plans; seen 30 September 2026.

United Kingdom: Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and FreshBooks

Monthly billing; Sage states prices excluding VAT, the others do not say.

  • Xero: Simple GBP 7 (GBP 84 a year), not VAT-registered, 10 invoices a month; Ignite GBP 18 (GBP 216), VAT returns, 20 invoices a month, no multi-currency; inventory by plan not stated; payroll GBP 1.50 per person; seen 30 September 2026.
  • QuickBooks Online UK: Sole Trader Plus GBP 10 (GBP 120 a year); Simple Start GBP 16 (GBP 192), MTD VAT, no inventory; Plus GBP 56 (GBP 672), 5 users, inventory, multi-currency; payroll from GBP 5 plus GBP 1.50 per employee; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Sage Accounting: Start GBP 20 (GBP 240 a year), 1 user, MTD VAT, payroll for 1 employee, no inventory; Plus GBP 59 (GBP 708), unlimited users, inventory, multi-currency, payroll for 5; seen 30 September 2026.
  • FreshBooks UK: Lite GBP 16 (GBP 192 a year), 5 clients, MTD VAT returns; Plus GBP 30 (GBP 360), 50 clients; inventory not listed; seen 30 September 2026.

United Kingdom: sole-trader apps and Skyline Nexus ERP Solo

These apps centre on Self Assessment and Making Tax Digital; most list no inventory.

  • FreeAgent Sole trader: GBP 19 (GBP 228 a year) excluding VAT, MTD for VAT and Income Tax; free with a NatWest, RBS, Ulster or Mettle account; inventory not listed; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Zoho Books UK: Free with MTD for Income Tax; Standard GBP 12 (GBP 144 a year), 3 users, no inventory; Professional GBP 24 (GBP 288), 5 users, inventory; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Pandle: free plan files MTD VAT and MTD for Income Tax; Pandle Pro GBP 5 plus VAT (GBP 60 a year), unlimited users, stock control, bank feeds; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Coconut: Bookkeeping GBP 16.99 a month or GBP 99.99 a year; MTD filing GBP 21.99 or GBP 129.99 a year for MTD for Income Tax; MTD for VAT and inventory not mentioned; VAT not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Skyline Nexus ERP Solo: GBP 15 (GBP 180 a year) excluding VAT, 1 user, ledger, inventory, POS, prefilled VAT return form; submit through MTD bridging software or your accountant's MTD software while direct MTD filing is rolled out; no bank feeds; seen 30 September 2026.

Canada and the United States

Monthly billing before GST, HST, QST or sales tax; FreshBooks, Wave and Kashoo do not state tax treatment.

  • QuickBooks Online: Canada EasyStart CAD 30 (CAD 360 a year), no inventory; Plus CAD 110 (CAD 1,320), 5 users, inventory; US Simple Start USD 38 (USD 456); US Plus USD 140 (USD 1,680); US Free 2 invoices a month; payroll extra; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Xero: Canada Starter CAD 25 (CAD 300 a year), 20 invoices a month, multi-currency from Premium CAD 80; US Early USD 27 from 1 October 2026 (USD 324 a year); US payroll via Gusto from USD 36; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Wave: Starter free in Canada and the US, card fees 2.9% plus USD 0.60; Pro USD 19 (USD 228 a year) or CAD 25 (CAD 300); inventory not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • FreshBooks: Lite USD 23 (USD 276 a year) or CAD 26 (CAD 312), 5 clients; Plus USD 43 or CAD 42; team members USD 11 or CAD 13; inventory not listed; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Sage Accounting Canada: Start CAD 23 (CAD 276 a year), 1 user, no inventory; Plus CAD 72 (CAD 864), unlimited users, inventory, multi-currency; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Zoho Books: Free under USD or CAD 50,000 revenue; Standard USD 20 or CAD 20, 3 users, no inventory; Professional USD 50 (USD 600 a year) or CAD 35 (CAD 420), inventory; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Kashoo: CAD 45 (CAD 540 a year) or USD 30 (USD 360), unlimited users, inventory item tracking, multi-currency; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Skyline Nexus ERP Solo: CAD 25 (CAD 300 a year) or USD 19 (USD 228), 1 user, ledger, inventory, POS, sales-tax rates and groups; CRA and Revenu Québec filing, bank feeds and payroll being rolled out; seen 30 September 2026.

Saudi Arabia and the UAE

ZATCA Phase 2 separates Saudi plans more than price does. Excluding 15% VAT unless stated.

  • Zoho Books Saudi Arabia: Free up to SAR 200,000 revenue, no Phase 2; Standard SAR 69 (SAR 828 a year), 3 users, Phase 2, no inventory; Professional SAR 129 (SAR 1,548), inventory; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Qoyod: Basic SAR 120 (SAR 1,440 a year), Phase 1 only, no inventory; Pro SAR 180 (SAR 2,160), 3 users, inventory, Phase 2; POS SAR 50 per POS user, payroll SAR 10 per employee; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Wafeq: Starter SAR 119 (SAR 1,428 a year), no Phase 2; Plus SAR 149 (SAR 1,788), Phase 2, no inventory; Premium SAR 249 (SAR 2,988) with inventory and payroll; VAT not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Rewaa Launch: SAR 275 a month, yearly billing only (SAR 3,300), POS, inventory, Phase 2; accounting a paid add-on on the 1-year term; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Daftra Basic (USD list; no SAR list obtained): USD 30 (USD 360 a year), 1 user, 100 invoices a month, inventory, POS, Phase 2; VAT not stated; seen 30 September 2026.
  • UAE: Zoho Books Standard AED 69 (AED 828 a year), 3 users, no inventory; Wafeq Starter AED 69, unlimited users, no inventory; seen 30 September 2026.
  • Skyline Nexus ERP Solo: SAR 69 (SAR 828 a year), SAR 79.35 a month with 15% VAT; AED 69 or QAR 69; 1 user, ledger, inventory, POS, ZATCA Phase 2, Saudi payroll with GOSI, WPS and Mudad; seen 30 September 2026.

Promotions right now, the promo cliff and other hidden costs

QuickBooks UK Plus at 90% off for six months costs 6 x GBP 5.60 plus 6 x GBP 56, or GBP 369.60 in year one, then GBP 672. Sage Accounting Plus costs 6 x GBP 5.90 plus 6 x GBP 59, or GBP 389.40, then GBP 708. FreshBooks Lite costs USD 12 in year one, then USD 276. Skyline Nexus ERP Solo UK costs 3 x GBP 7.50 plus 9 x GBP 15, or GBP 157.50 for the first 12 paid months, then GBP 180.

Also check per-user fees (sevDesk EUR 5.90, Holded EUR 10), per-document e-invoicing fees (Zoho Books UAE from AED 41 per 100 after 100 free), POS and payroll add-ons, ERP implementation fees and VAT on top.

  • 90% off for six months: Xero UK, QuickBooks UK, Canada and EU, Sage UK; no end date stated.
  • 80% off for three months: Xero Canada and the global Xero list, FreshBooks Plus in the US and Canada.
  • FreshBooks Lite at USD 1 or CAD 1 a month for the first year; campaign data ends 15 October 2026.
  • Xero price rises: US on 1 October 2026 (Early USD 25 to 27, Growing 55 to 59); global list on 1 November 2026 (Starter USD 29 to 32, Standard 50 to 54).
  • 50% off for three months: Holded, Lexware Office, Quipu, Wave Pro, FreshBooks Lite UK and EU.
  • Skyline Nexus ERP launch offer until 31 January 2027: 50% off the first 3 months on monthly billing, or 15 months for the price of 10 on annual billing, after a free first month.

Where a free or cheaper tool is the better choice

No single product is cheapest for everyone, and a full ERP is more than many one-person businesses need. On prices published on 30 September 2026:

  • A few invoices a month: sevDesk Kostenlos, QuickBooks US Free, Wave Starter or Zoho Books Free.
  • UK sole trader needing MTD filing now: Pandle free files MTD VAT and Income Tax; Pandle Pro adds stock control for GBP 5.
  • French micro-entrepreneur without VAT: Pennylane Free, Tiime Free or Indy Essentiel.
  • Happy to self-host or use a non-EU host: Dolibarr and ERPNext are free open-source software.
  • One Odoo app for several people: Odoo One App Free has no user limit.
  • Three users, no stock: Zoho Books Standard, at SAR 69 the same price as Skyline Nexus ERP Solo in Saudi Arabia.
  • Cash retail in Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Poland or Spain: a till certified for your country.

Skyline Nexus ERP Solo: what one user gets and what it costs

Skyline Nexus ERP Solo is a 1-user, 1-branch plan with the Core modules: a general ledger with automatic posting from sales, purchases, payments and depreciation, invoicing with credit and debit notes, inventory per location with FIFO costing, POS with cash registers, bank reconciliation from imported CSV or XLSX statements, CRM, VAT reports with a prefilled return form, foreign-currency invoices, an audit trail and roles. It is a cloud service in English and Arabic, with translations for many other languages and an in-app AI help assistant.

Per month, excluding VAT: EUR 17 (DE, NL, AT, BE, IE, LU, FI), EUR 15 (FR, IT), EUR 12 (ES, PT), EUR 10 (GR), GBP 15, CAD 25, USD 19, SAR 69, AED 69, QAR 69, PLN 49. Every plan starts with a free first month, no card needed. The launch offer, valid until 31 January 2027, halves the first 3 months on monthly billing or gives 15 months for the price of 10 on annual billing: EUR 178.50 for the first 12 paid months in Germany, or EUR 170 for 15 months.

Skyline Nexus ERP generates XRechnung, ZUGFeRD and Peppol BIS files in Germany and handles ZATCA Phase 2 in Saudi Arabia. Other national e-invoicing connectors, certified tills, bank feeds and payroll outside Saudi Arabia are being rolled out country by country; until your till is certified, use the POS for invoice-based sales or pair it with a certified till. Tell us your country and we will confirm your go-live date. Upgrading to Core applies at once, with unused time credited.

Common questions

What is the cheapest accounting software for one user?

For one user, free tiers cost nothing: Zoho Books Free, Wave Starter in North America and Pandle in the UK, as of 30 September 2026. No single product is cheapest for everyone, though: free tiers cap invoices, revenue or features, and inventory usually needs a paid plan. Compare the 12-month cost of the first plan that covers what you actually do, excluding promotions.

Is Odoo free?

Odoo is free only for one app: Odoo One App Free covers a single app, such as Invoicing, for unlimited users. A second app moves you to Odoo Standard, published at EUR 31.10 per user a month on monthly billing or EUR 24.90 on annual billing on 30 September 2026, with a first-year discount for initial users.

How much does QuickBooks cost in the UK?

QuickBooks Online in the UK was published on 30 September 2026 at GBP 10 a month for Sole Trader Plus, GBP 16 for Simple Start, GBP 56 for Plus and GBP 123 for Advanced. QuickBooks UK offered 90% off the first six months to new customers. Inventory starts at Plus, which covers 5 users. The page does not say whether the prices include VAT.

Is Wave really free?

Wave is really free for its Starter plan in Canada and the US, with unlimited invoices, estimates and bills, as published on 30 September 2026. Wave charges card fees of 2.9% plus USD 0.60 per payment, sells payroll as an add-on and offers Wave Pro at USD 19 or CAD 25 a month. Wave's pricing page does not list inventory, so Wave is an invoicing and bookkeeping tool rather than an ERP.

Why is ERP software priced per user?

ERP software is priced per user because every user gets access to many modules, such as purchasing, inventory, sales and HR, and vendors price that access by seat. Odoo Standard and Business Central Essentials both charge per user, so a five-person team pays five times the headline price. A one-user ERP plan is cheaper only while the business stays at one user.

Do accounting software prices include VAT?

Accounting software prices usually exclude VAT: Sage UK, Zoho, Lexware, Holded, Microsoft and Skyline Nexus ERP state prices before VAT. Several vendors, including QuickBooks UK, FreshBooks and Wave, did not say on 30 September 2026. In Saudi Arabia 15% VAT is added, so a SAR 69 plan costs SAR 79.35 a month. Check the checkout page before you compare totals.

How much does Xero cost?

Xero cost GBP 7 a month for Simple and GBP 18 for Ignite in the UK, CAD 25 for Starter in Canada and USD 25 for Early in the US as of 30 September 2026. Xero US prices rise on 1 October 2026, with Early moving to USD 27, and the global USD list rises on 1 November 2026. Xero has no EUR price list for Ireland or the euro area.

This guide is general information, not tax, accounting or legal advice. Rules differ from country to country and change over time; confirm the current position with your tax authority or a qualified adviser before acting on anything here.

Ready to run your operation on a single workspace?

Talk to us about your business

Tell us what you run and we will come back with a straight answer about fit, timeline and price.

No card, no obligation. We reply within one business day.

Tax & e-invoicing calendar

Once a month: mandate dates, VAT changes and filing deadlines for your country. No sales mail.

Chat on WhatsApp